G is for…

B was for brothers.  was for cousins.  was for dads.

So I’m going to stick with the family theme for this letter, too.


is for grandparents. I got to know all four of mine. One is still living and she contributes to “Questions I Asked My Grandmother” episodes. She’s my only grandparent my boys got to meet. DW was very young when hers passed. The boys are lucky enough to have six. Their grandfather, unfortunately, passed in February and is sorely missed. A piece of them was taken, but they all always have their loving memories of him.

They still have two Nanny’s, a Nana, a Pop, and a Pop Pop. DW’s parents divorced long ago and each has a significant other, therefore extra grandparents. Naturally, they love them all dearly. Grandparents are the children spoilers. They can sugar ’em up and then give ’em back. They say yes, when Mom and Dad say no. They are the bringer of treats, hugs, and extra electronics time. 

They’ve led lives ahead of ours in which we only know about from the stories we’re told. Times were different when our grandparents were our age. I like to think of them as simpler. No phones to keep charged. No worry about who said what on Facebook. Depending on how old your grandparents are, they may not have had to channel surf looking for something good on TV because there was no TV. There was less processed food. Classrooms had few children, mostly because they were all walking uphill, barefoot through 3 feet snow to get there.

When I was kid of 5 years old, the same age Bang is now, I used to fly from Maryland to Florida as an “unaccompanied minor” to visit my grandparents, aunt, uncle, and cousin for a few weeks. I did that every summer up until my brother was 5 he came with me that year. That was last year we flew to Florida to visit them as our summers became occupied by baseball. That’s also when my grandparents would venture to our house to visit instead. My last trip to Florida was for her funeral. While it was a sad event, I got to see that my cousin and his kid got to spend time with her and that made me happy.

I remember during one trip I was drinking a Coca-Cola. My grandfather told me he used to drive a Coke truck for deliveries. A Coke then cost 5¢. This might explain why I prefer Coke to Pepsi. Thanks Pop Pop.

My dad’s parents were farmers and to this day I love visiting “The Farm”. The wide open space, the dirt road back to the river, the barns and chicken houses and farm machinery… It’s where our family gathered for special occasions like birthdays, Christmas, Easter, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, or just because. There were always laughs, probably a prank to two. My grandmother was one for pranks. Like when she put a fake bird in a tree and told my dad to try to catch it.

Grandparents hold a special place in our kids’ hearts that can’t be filled by anyone or anything else. They’re better than being just parents, hence we call them grand.

the-reason-grandparents-and-grandchildren-get-along-so-well-is-that-they-have-a-common-enemy-quote-1

12 thoughts on “G is for…

  1. I had only one grandparent alive when I was born. She was my paternal grandmother, a little, itty, bitty full blooded Italian woman, who swore she didn’t understand nor could she speak English! She understood perfectly what was being said! My grandparents immigrated from Italy, both sets, and they had enough money to buy a farm in Rhode Island with the rights to the upper lake that was behind their property. I loved when we had the opportunity to visit even though the farm was no longer a working farm the remnants of when it was were still fun to explore. Thank you for sharing your post today!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had one grandparent I was close to (one passed when I was young, and the other set was on the other side of the country), and she was like a mom. She passed away a month before Little Man was born, sadly. Now with LM and BG, between our extended families and all, they are close to three sets of grandparents and one great grandparent.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Both of my mom’s parents passed away before I was born, but my older brother (3.5 years older) had spent some time with them before they passed away. That’s when my parents and brother moved from Georgia to Texas to live close to my dad’s parents and also where I was born and grew up. My paternal grandparent’s house was always the place for holidays: Easter egg hunts with the cousins, summer time outside and sleepovers, sick days that parents couldn’t take off work, Thanksgiving with all of the cousins, and the same with Christmas Eve. My grandma passed away 8 years ago and it hasn’t been the same since. (I’ve also gotten married and moved out of the state, so that changes things a little too.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry to hear about your grandma. Meeting at her place sounds very much like meeting at mine. It’s the place family gathers. I totally understand moving away. I left the country. I miss seeing everyone at those special times…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I never met both my grandfathers as they passed away when my parents were young. But when i was a kid i believed i had 4 grandmothers (both my maternal and paternal grandma’s had unmarried sisters who used to live with them) and i loved it! Seeing how my kids are with my dad now is just amazing and fills my heart with joy! Family is everything 💕 Btw i too prefer coke over pepsi lol

    Liked by 1 person

  5. In India most families have a joint set-up. Kids grow up living with their grandparents around. A few (like me) are lucky to have had atleast their paternal/maternal grandparents witness their grand children wedding (infact, my mum is close to her 3 year old grandson, she takes care of him in my absence). On the minus side is the fact that they get too interfering and throw conservative ideas around. All-in-all, its so much fun though 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • My dad’s family is very much like this. Of the 6 kids, only 2 moved away. The other 4 live very near to where they grew up. Hence, we grandkids got to see our grandparents frequently. I think it’s an idea set up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

