Quetions My Kids Ask: Bacon, Bears, Brains, and Wiggly Teeth

The winds are howling here tonight. If this keeps up we just may wake up in Munchkinland tomorrow. We’re battening the hatches and holding our hats. Knock on wood we don’t lose power. At least then I wouldn’t have to worry about the kids not turning off the lights!

Why does bacon shrink when you cook it?

God this stuff is good. Meat of the heavens. I’m sure you’ve all noticed that the final product is significantly smaller than the original. There are two factors at play. One is water. As the bacon is fried it loses water content. As it loses water content it shrivels right up. Store bought bacon most often has more water in it due to the way it’s cured (injected with brine – aka salt water). They use more water to make the bacon look better. It is also an abundant source so the processor is able to offer it at a lower price. They saccrifice quality for profit and we get what we pay for.

The second factor is fat and the temperature it’s cooked at. Fat rendering is when the fat turns from solid to liquid while cooking. So some of it will cook off and end up in the drain pan. When buying bacon, look for the package that has more pink than white. Also, cook it at the lowest temperature you can. Baking it best, but who their right mind wants to wait an hour for bacon? 

What do bears eat?

Whatever the hell they want. Then they poop wherever the hell they want. Who’s going to stop him? Surely not me. Most people think bears are meat eaters. With the exception of the polar bear, most bears’ diet consists mostly of vegitation. The black bear, for example, eats plants and berries about 85% of the time. The other 15% consists of insects, stolen meat, and small rodents like mice. In the Pacific Northwest they’ll hunt salmon on occassion. Meanwhile, their cousin the grizzly, eats a bit more meat and will hunt bigger game like deer, elk,  moose, and bison. Sometimes they’ll catch fish like salmon and trout. But when meat isn’t readily available they’ll fatten up on moths and other insects. The panda bear, of course, eats strictly vegitation. So, like I said, they eat whatever they want. Some are carniverous, most are omniverous, and a select few are vegans  herbivores.

What does your brain look like?

Once upon a time Bang thought brains looked like a spring. I don’t know why he thought that. I corrected him during our discussion of him wanting to be a neurosurgeon when grows up. They look like greyish, pinkish, wrinkly, sponges. There also seems to be a corrolation between the “hills” (gyri) and the “valleys” (sulci) and intellegence. It is thought that the more ridges an animal has the more intellegent it is. For example, mice have smooth brains while human and monkey brains are full of ridges. Though with some humans I truly wonder if they really do have ridges like a marble…

Do you have any wiggly teeth?

I do not, thankfully. Though with what the tooth fairy doles out sometimes I’m half tempted to start knocking them out myself. I have all my adult teeth minus the two wisdom teeth I had pulled. Crash and Bang on the other hand don’t have all their adult teeth yet. Crash still has about 6 more teeth to lose! Bang has his first new tooth coming in and it’s causing two teeth to start to wiggle. Sometimes we swear they’re sharks with multiple rows of teeth. Have you ever seen a kids x-ray of their teeth. You can clearly see their adult teeth up inside their head just waiting to move down and shove out their cute little baby teeth. Just Google “x-ray of kids teeth”. Either way, it’s great to have teeth that allow us to eat bacon.

12 thoughts on “Quetions My Kids Ask: Bacon, Bears, Brains, and Wiggly Teeth

      • Uh-huh.Well… not “don’t like”..just that we don’t eat pork, ham and stuff (religious reasons). For me, it’s not a taste I’m familiar with. I have accidentally ate them several times, but didn’t like it.
        I do know people who swear by them of course.

        Like

      • Ahhh I see. I always forget about religions that don’t consume various food and drink. I’ll let you slide. We can still be friends😁 it’s not something we eat regularly by any means but DW puts two pieces on her salad every day and I’ll steal a piece now and then for a sandwich.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s not so much that she loves it, but it counts as protein on this diet she’s on. Since the plan allows 2 pieces she puts them on her salad for lunch 🙂

        Like

  1. I have to agree with you on the brain thing, some people must have marble…
    Teeth I hate teeth. I’m not looking forward to when Dom starts losing them! So I will most definitely NOT Google x-rays of kids’ teeth. Haha (I don’t mind going to the dentist, never had a bad experience, just have never liked the idea of losing them, especially once I had all my adult teeth.. I used to have dreams that they were falling out all the time. Stress dreams, I’m told…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unfortuntately, once we get our big kid teeth we don’t get any more. Unlike sharks who just keep growing new teeth all the time. I can understand how one could be worried about losing the teethe we’re not supposed to lose after having just lost a mouth full of teeth already.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

