Come and Gone and Going On

 

The new Christmas toys are put away, already well used. All of our new Christmas pants are being hemmed by DW on her new Christmas sewing machine. Bang and I tested it out by practicing sewing straight lines by perforating the blue lines of a sheet of notebook paper. The drone has taken flight and recorded some neat video of where we live. It only flew away once. Fortunately, it landed safely and we found it quickly (unlike some others we heard about). The Polaroid has snapped shot after shot. The Polar Express chugs proudly around its track in the basement. The cardboard house is slowly being colored. My “juice box” has charged my phone while on the go. Christmas was good to us and thanks to our daily Random Act of Kindness, we are so much more thankful for it.

New Year’s Eve has come. It has gone. We partied with the same friends we partied with last New Year’s Eve. It was just as much fun this year, even if there were fewer onion rings. New Year’s Day has come. It’s nearly gone, too. I’ve thought about resolutions. The only one I can come up with is drink less Coke. I’ll switch to Pepsi.

Just kidding… I’ll start drinking less pop (soda) as soon as the bottle of Coke in the fridge is gone.

December saw less running. When I say less, I mean I went once and that was because DW’s sister-in-law (does that make her my sister-in-law, too?) was in town and invited me along. I’m going to run more. And more and more if I can help it because not running sucks.

Never mind me. What can I do to better my family? I can I teach the oldest better interpersonal skills. We’re discovering his interactions with adults needs some work. I’d like to help motivate DW to get out for her walks. Or get on for her walks – the dreadmill treadmill.

I’m looking forward to writing tomorrow’s “Month/Year In Review” as 2016 was generous to my little blog’s second year. If you want to see my first year in review, it’s right here. Seeing where my blog was at this time last year compared to where it is today, a year later, gives me giddy giggles to think about where it’ll be in one more year. I have to thank all of you for that. Yes you. The one reading this sentence right now. You have brought be here. You have kept me here and I’m grateful for that. Your discussions are dynamic. Your input is inspiring. Your readership is ramazing!

Hang on to your hats… here comes 2017!

happy-new-year-2017-gif-images-for-facebook-1

29 thoughts on “Come and Gone and Going On

  1. I’m so excited about 2017 and what it has in store. A very happy new year to you and yours, have a great year with lots of success! #FabFridayPost

    Like

  2. Happy New Year Eric, to you and your family. I hope it is a good one for all of you. Glad to hear your going to kick the can of pop — that stuff has so many vowel-less words, it just can’t be good. I gave it up about 8 years ago, maybe more. Wishing you all good things! xo #fabfridaypost

    Like

    • Happy New Year to you too, Lisa! So far so good. Giving up the pop is a work in progress. I’m certainly drinking less. I think I’m weaning myself off it. Eventually, it’ll become a treat that I get once in a while rather than something I feel I need to have.

      Like

Leave a Reply

