A Crab and A Whale

I have been keeping All In A Dad’s Work and Stomperdad’s GoPro as two separate entities. I normally don’t share the YouTube on my blog. Unless it’s Thursday’s “Questions I Asked My Kids” (which was skipped this week but will make up to you).

But yesterday I did something exciting. I went kayaking and I took along my GoPro.

Where’s the exciting part?

I took some twine with me which I tied to the GoPro and dangled it over the kayak in about 3 feet of water. I got a great piece of video of a crab (and some hermit crabs). Unexpectedly, the crab became curious and came to check out the camera that was plopped in front of him. He sat on it and grabbed the string it was attached to! Afraid he would cut my line I hauled the string up to retrieve my camera. The crab didn’t let go either. He ended up in my kayak with me!

After I threw him back in the water I continued on my way. In just a few minutes the water depth was 213 feet (the deepest port in the world). I did not dangle the GoPro at that depth. I’m still curious to try, though the GoPro is only waterproof to 30 feet (but I’ve seen others drop theirs in deeper water and still be okay). I’ll mark my string at 30 feet and see what happens.

But as I’m paddling along I received another visitor. A seal poked his head up out of the water and I heard him before I saw him. His tell-tale signature sound of forcing air through his nose let me know he was nearby. The GoPro had trouble seeing him. He was just a dot on the water.

Then I heard it. It sounded like that of the seal only louder. It was accompanied by a fine mist going airborn from the surface of the water (which was nearly as smooth as glass). Minutes later it appeared again on my other side.

It was a humpback whale!

He surfaced about 30 feet in front of me several times. The GoPro caught him a couple of those times. I ended up following him at distance for about an hour. It was amazing. I would love to go out again, but the wind has picked up and it’s not easy kayaking out there when the waves pick up.

Please check out my video. I think you’ll be surprised!
There’s a new one, too! See it now!

crab

27 thoughts on “A Crab and A Whale

  1. My son and I enjoyed watching the video. He thought it was so cool, the crabs were “awesome” and the whale was amazing. He went kayaking for the first time this summer and I think he will continue to go just so he can see amazing animals as well.

    Like

    • Glad he enjoyed it! I wish the camera would have picked up the whale better. Seeing in person was out of this world. Both of my sons love kayaking. We currently have 3. Our youngest (5 years old) got in his brother’s kayak and took to it like he’d been paddling for years. So next spring we’ll have to get a 4th and find a way to haul all four kayaks! It’s truly amazing to see wildlife, whether it’s whales, crabs or just birds, up close on a personal level like you can in a kayak is amazing.

      Like

    • It was definitely magical! That was me… excited and nervous. I didn’t want to get too close. But after watching him for a while I’d like to get as close as I can the next time I go out. I’d like to get better video of him and I’d like to see if I can get some underwater shots too (like I did with the crab)

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure how long the whale will hang around and I was just looking at the forecast and we’re not supposed to have any calm days (easier for kayaking) all week. But if I get them I’ll will post them to here and YouTube as soon as I can! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That video was awesome!!! LM has been asking for a GoPro so he can post Lego and Transformer reviews. Found a knockoff on Amazon for pretty cheap, can’t wait to see what he comes up with.

    Like

    • Thanks! I got more video today. Good luck to LM! Can’t wait to see what he comes up with. Crash thought that by making Lego movies I would buy him more Legos. He was wrong. I’ll have to get him doing a vlog from his tablet. He had a Kidizoom Action Cam (gopro for kids) but it quit working one day.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha! I hope that isn’t what LM is thinking. I thought about the Kidizoom, but saw the DBPower camera for like $5 more and it had pretty good reviews, so hopefully it’ll work well. It was going to be a Christmas present, but oops.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been out with them 3 times now it’s just as amazing every single time. I’m really hoping to get out just one more time before they leave, but it’s supposed to be really windy here all week. Not conducive to kayaking…

      Like

  3. Pingback: #FabFridayPost Linky #58 {18.11.16}

Leave a Reply

