Go Ask Your Father: Math, Knowing, Crab Apples, Gender Switching

We did it. We re-recorded the boys answers to yesterday blog questions after school. Their answers were slightly different this time. I’ll leave the video at the bottom of this post for an extra laugh. Happy Weekend y’all!

We are coming into the homestretch of Canadian Thanksgiving. It’s on Monday. We’ve got a three day weekend! I’ve got four because I’m that good. Actually, it’s because I didn’t get booked to substitute today. I managed to get four subbing days this week, though. So now I’m left at home alone to blog and clean and listen to Dispatch and O.A.R. really loud so I can sing really loud without hearing myself.

Can I do math?

Crash has been practicing his multiplication facts. He’s slowly getting better. We’re up to 4’s now. Bang sees it as homework and he doesn’t want big bub to have homework without him. “Can I do math, too?” he’ll ask.

Of course you can buddy.

So I write out some addition and subtraction problems for him. He’ll sit for a half hour or more working solving his problems. Before we left for church last Sunday he asked if he could take math with him.

Of course you can buddy.

He sat on the kneeler with his math on the pew and worked his little brain for close to 45 minutes. It was by far the quietest he’s ever been.

Not like the time the church got silent and he says quite loudly while holding a hymnal, “This book sucks” because he misunderstood the meaning of sucks.

Did you know?

This is Crash’s latest phrase. 99.9999% of the time it’s proceeded by a Minecraft fact. Rain kills Endermen. When a pig is struck by lightning it turns into a  zombie pigman. You can make obsidian by pouring water on lava. That kind of stuff. That game is way more complicated than it’s 8 bit graphics. I’ve been playing (so that when he comes out with a “did you know” I can tell him, “Yes, I knew that.” My houses are just large boxes. But I just learned to put a lava beacon on top of it. It’s a tall tower with lava flowing down it. I’m trying to figure out how to make a hidden staircase.

Did you know some people have too much time on their hands?

Can you eat crab apples?

Some people make crab apple jam. We have a crab apple tree in front of our house (I’d LOVE to replace it with a Maple) Those buggers are sour. Good luck horking one those things down. You can. They won’t hurt you. They’re not poisonous, my dear Sleeping Beauty. Perhaps if you eat too many at once you’ll end up with a stomach ache. Kinda like if you eat that whole container of candy corn. Did you see the recipe for candy corn on the cob?

fm3x5mch88xijr6-large

Can boys change to girls?

This sprouted from another bedtime talk with Bang. He’s giving us a run for our money with questions these days. From babies in bellies to the origins of life and now this. Of course I told him that boys can change to girls, but it requires special surgeries. He wanted to know what the surgery was called, but at the time I didn’t know.

Now I know this gender switch is called a “sex reassignment surgery”. It’s usually undergone by someone who is one gender physically but identifies themselves as the other. We did not get into the topic of being transgender. Just knowing that boys can change and that it requires surgery was enough to satisfy his curious mind.

curiosity-quotes-5

18 thoughts on “Go Ask Your Father: Math, Knowing, Crab Apples, Gender Switching

  1. When I was in high school, the people next door had a crabapple tree, and when it shed anything the leaves and crabapples would fall on the lawn outside my window. There’s nothing like the scent of rotting crabapples… and they’d start fermenting as well…

    Liked by 1 person

    • He didn’t work on them for as long this week. Fortunately, they were still behaved. Wrestling matches and tickle fights have been knows to break out from time to time in the pew. Not fun when the whole church is silent and your two boys are the only one being loud.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

