Shh… It’s Quiet Here

It’s 8:35. It’s dark outside and has been for an hour and half. I’ve sat down at my computer no less than ten times today. I have two ideas for really neat posts, but they take time. The work is in progress. I had nothing for today. Every time I would sit and try to write I would 

  • read other blogs instead
  • wash dishes
  • paint the hallway
  • walk to the grocery store for peanuts for the crows and blue jays (and damn pigeons and a seagull) (more on that later)
  • go for a 5 mile run
  • email my parents (thanks ma and pa for writing back!)

So anyway.. about those peanuts… Remember that video I posted of the finches? I hung my GoPro from the bird feeder. It turned out pretty neat. I was impressed anyway. Check it out here if you’re curious. Today I walked to the grocery store for a bag of peanuts, the kind still in the shell. We like to feed the crows and blue jays. But I had alternative motives this time. I was going to catch them on video as I did the finches. 

We have a bird bath that we converted into a bird feeder by filling it with peanuts instead of water.The birds love it. We love watching the birds. I put the peanuts in the feeder and I wasn’t even back in the door yet and the jays were swooping in. Soon enough a pecking order developed. Pigeons ate the nuts that had fallen from the shell. The jays scared the pigeons away. The crows scared the jays away. Then a greedy, bastard seagull flew in and scared the crows away. We stepped in and scared the seagull away. It would eaten EVERYTHING! And I got it all on video…

Fast forward past supper. Crash and his friend were playing some more truth or dare (would you grow up to become a stipper?). Bang and his BFF were in the basement playing. Until they weren’t. They came up and wanted to join in. Crash didn’t want Bang to join. Bang screamed. Bang threw himself on the floor. Bang thew the temper tantrum of the century. 

So I delivered him to his room to cool off.

Shortly after, the friends left because it was 6:30 snack time. Or as the kids think of it, 6:30 show off time. 

Then it was bedtime routine. Or as the kids think it, show off time. They KNOW damn well what they need to do, what I expect them to do, to get ready for bed. Crash has jumped out and scared Bang going up the stairs so many times that Bang will no longer go up by himself. Crash delays bedtime by “not wanting” to brush and floss his teeth. Bang says he “doesn’t know” how to get changed. Meanwhile, I stand there shouting directions like Gunnery Sargent Harmen (Full Metal Jacket). 

The growling has stopped. The littlest one had his nightly poop. The oldest is no longer naked. The books have been read. Night night kisses lovingly delivered. Lights have been turned out. 

It
    is
        quiet!

Today’s Taboo word was “be”.  To read more posts without the Taboo Word (be) or to join the challenge? Just click the blue frog…

To add the blue frog to your post get the InLinkz code.

11 thoughts on “Shh… It’s Quiet Here

  1. I enjoyed your video!

    And LOL at your kids. Amazingly, BG does better with her bedtime routine than LM. As soon as I tell her to lie down to get her diaper changed and jammies on, she does so, then heads to the bathroom to get her teeth brushed, and goes back to the couch to put her “night night” (sleep sack) on. We’re lucky if LM has managed to take his clothes off in that time.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Glad you like it. I’m kind proud of that one. There are a couple more of the “big birds” coming. I just need to get them edited. As for bedtime.. they certainly know how to drag their feet. They know just the right buttons to push for just long enough to keep me from going insane. Bang used to be great at bedtime. Then he started mimicking big brother…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh those birds! How cool is it to catch them on video!

    The bedtime routine sounds extremely familiar! Always fun. :p It’s great when all’s quiet isn’t it! πŸ™‚ Squirt does the same too with “I don’t know how to put my shirt/my pants/my undies/my socks…” Sometimes, “I don;t know how to put the spoon in my mouth or take big bites”. -Especially annoying when you are in hurry.

    That said, I just read Momma’s View post “About growing up” – it’s an interesting thought on perhaps the kids just doesn’t want to let go. Cool post!

    Like

    • I was pretty happy to see that they quickly got over their fear of the camera. I got some neat video of blue jays and crows that I’ll hopefully get edited tonight or tomorrow. It’s pretty cool. As for bedtime, kids generally hate bedtime so they do what they can to delay it. They quickly learn how mad mom and dad can get before they lose their cool and get in serious trouble. So they push us to just the edge of our breaking point πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can definitely relate to the “bedtime routine” tribulations. My little one’s routine, such as it were, involves climbing on my head while I pretend to sleep in a feeble attempt to get him to join in with the slumber party. Thanks for linking with #FabFridayPost

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

