Go Ask Your Father: Pavers, Returning, Fortunes, and Sleeps

Today is a happy sad day. I just returned from dropping Bang off at his last day of kindergarten (aka preschool). He starts “big kid school” in September! WTF? It wasn’t that long ago he was a funny little infant. Now he gets to school and doesn’t need/want mom or dad to help and explicitly says so.

I said to one of his teachers this morning, “This is the last time I’ll be dropping him off” with a frown. She said, “I know! I told him the other day ‘I’m going to miss you when you go to big kid school’ and he told me, “Don’t worry, Mrs. Shannon. I’ll come up to see you and give you a hug and tell you I love you.” I told her that he will and she said that’s exactly what the other teacher said. He’s a lovey little boy for sure.

1. How do pavers work?

I’m sure you saw this question coming. I could make today entirely about the machines that occupied our driveway in the past two weeks. The most interesting to the boys though was the paver. This beast takes a pre-heated load of asphalt into its hopper from a dump truck. From there an auger (screw) moves the asphalt to rollers which are heated to 300+ (F). This heat further softens the asphalt making it like oatmeal. The paver then spreads the oatmeal over the surface being laid simultaneously flattening and compacting it. After it cools a bit, a roller will finish the job. When the roller vibrates it will literally rattle the dishes in the cupboard.

2. Are you coming back, Dad?

Backstory: I was called in to substitute after school had already started because a teacher wasn’t feeling well. This question got asked as I was walking out the door at 9:30.

In short, yes, buddy, I’m coming back. In long, I won’t be right back. I’m not sure if he meant right back or back later, but he was curious to know if I was coming back. This is where I keep my food and my new mower so I’ll definitely be back.

new mower

I considered doing an “unboxing” video but decided against it

3. What’s a fortune?

There are big fortunes and there are small fortunes. Birthdays are good for bringing the latter. Fortunes are like infinities, they come in all kinds of sizes. There are an infinite number of numbers counting upward as there is indeterminate number of dollars one can have. There is also an infinite number of numbers between 0 and 1. This would be equivalent to a small fortune. It’s all relative to the one holding the cash and anyone eyeballing it wondering if they’re going to share their fortune big or small.

4. How many more sleeps until I’m six?

He had just turned 5. Literally 3 days had passed when this one was asked. 362 sleeps since it’s not a leap year. 362 sleeps until you turn six. He found a candle in the cupboard, “Hey! I found a 6 candle!” (it was in the shape of a six) No, we’re not planning that far ahead. Flip it over dude. It’s your brother’s 9 candle. However, there are only 9 more sleeps until your brother turns 9 and 44 more sleeps until your dad’s birthday.

024465e2fa1a494faaa8165aa145fb48

11 thoughts on “Go Ask Your Father: Pavers, Returning, Fortunes, and Sleeps

  1. Kids! They grow up too fast. I love dropping the kids to school and I’m sure I’m going to miss that when I don’t hv to anymore- the kids wld probably be jumping for joy!

    And look who is counting to the next birthday!😜 May that come with many and plentiful little treasures!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

