The Man in the Black Sedan

 

book

Photo Prompt © Kent Bonham

Read Chapter 14 or start from the beginning.

Chapter 15

“Where’s Brogan?” he shouted.

“Gone. Far from here, now, I imagine!” He smacked me. It burned but I refused to cry. “Please untie me.”

“No. I’ve been following you all over this backwoods island. Dempsey doesn’t want you dead, just quiet. He needs to know you won’t go talking.” He smacked my face again.

“I promise!”

“Not good enough!”

“Get your hands off me, pig!” But I couldn’t move.

Suddenly, a gunshot echoed through the woods and off the wall of this abandoned bark mill. The man from the black sedan jerk his head around. He grabbed the book and started running. Through the woods came the three young men who brought me here, one with a rifle.


Read chapter 16

This is a continuation of an experiment. Each week there is a 100 word short story photo prompt challenge posed by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. My challenge to myself is to connect these photos into one seamless story. Click the blue frog to read other stories inspired by this photo.

5 thoughts on “The Man in the Black Sedan

  1. Pingback: Into the Woods | All In A Dad's Work

  2. Pingback: All In A Dad's Work

Leave a Reply

