Two Charities

jody

I mentioned it before in one of my Sunday Shares, but I’m going to mention it again.

A friend of mine had just finished running 26.2 miles in Boston in 2013. He was in the medical tent being treated for dehydration when the bombs went off.

He was invited back to run in 2014. There, he became connected with a charity called 50 Legs.

Mission

The purpose of 50 Legs is to provide amputees with the necessary care and prosthetics that they could not otherwise afford and help them live a happier and healthier life.

This morning he was interviewed on a radio station discussing that terrible day and what he’s doing now to contribute.

Have a listen.

If you feel so inspired that you’d like to give, you can visit Jody’s donation page here.

 


I’ve written of this second charity as well, but feel it deserves a mention, too. It’s my brother’s Ride for Roswell.

Roswell Cancer Research Institute in Buffalo, NY, provides care to patients and ongoing developments in better ways to battle cancers.

Funds raised through The Ride For Roswell support the cutting-edge research and patient care programs that benefit the 31,000 patients who turn to Roswell Park for hope.  Donations are further used to improve the patient and family experience, support new clinical treatments and procedures and educate the next generation of cancer scientists and clinicians.

This is the 7th year my brother has participated in this even. This year he rides in honor of Melina Selent. When she was just 10 months old she developed retinoblastoma, an eye cancer. Fortunately, it was just in one eye. Unfortunately, her eye had to be removed. That was in 1996. This summer she is scheduled to graduate with a BS in Biology.

My father is riding for the 7th consecutive year, as well. He rides in memory of my grandfather (my mom’s dad) and for a college friend of his.

Both have goals of reaching $1,000.

riders

One is my brother. One is our dad. One is my brother’s in-law. 

If would like to donate to my brother, visit his donation page here.
If you would like to donate to my father, visit his donation page here.

5 thoughts on “Two Charities

  1. Pingback: Links To Some Uplifting Posts (3-30-2016) – My Daily Musing

  2. Every time I come over to visit, you’re doing something good and amazing. My friends and I ran for the Leukemia and Lymphoma society in the Marine Corp marathon after my husband’s best friend died from cancer. It didn’t bring him back, but putting one foot in front of the other and raising some bucks for research feels like a step in the right direction.
    Awesome, my friend!

    Like

    • Thanks, Michelle! However, I’ve got the easy part. I’m only spreading the word. It is them who are the heroes doing great things. I would love to have run the MCM! You’re right about it not bringing your friend back. But think of the lives you money helped changed! We can’t save the whole world, but we can change the world for a few.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

