Dead Weight Lifted

emmylgant

PHOTO PROMPT – © Emmy L Gant

Get caught up with chapters 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 78, 9

CHAPTER 10

I kept that jar of dead batteries Dempster sent me in my purse. It was a constant reminder to be cautious. Brogan and I were spending the day Halifax. We visited the water front, rode the Harbor Hopper and were visiting the Citadel when I knew I had to get rid  of that dead weight. I threw that jar into the nearest trash can.

“Why did that, mum?”

“Because, sweetie. Those batteries weren’t working just like hiding from daddy isn’t working.”

“Does that mean we’re going back?” I heard the terror in his voice.

“Of course not.” Hugging him tight, I felt the sun warm us and I knew what I had to do.


Read Chapter 11 

This is a continuation of an experiment. It’s hard to believe this is the 10th week! Each week there is a 100 word short story photo prompt challenge posed by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. My challenge to myself is to connect these photos into one seamless story. Click the blue frog to read other stories inspired by this photo.

7 thoughts on “Dead Weight Lifted

  1. The tone in this installment felt different…sort of showing how the narrator’s thoughts are changing as the story progresses. Was that intentional? or did it just come to you as you were going?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Dead Threat | All In A Dad's Work

  3. Pingback: Hide and Seek | All In A Dad's Work

Leave a Reply

