Go Ask Your Father: Bavaria, Blast Offs, Bible, and A Bottle

Just by sheer coincidence, today is all about B words. None of them is the word “Baby”, however. As we learned from Bang yesterday, they come from the Civic Center and cost over 900 million dollars.

1. Where is Bavaria?

2c57f931f3b7bb313f223d7a1c75ae66Nanny and Pop had just started a 2,000 piece puzzle of a beautiful castle. Neuschwanstein Castle, to be precise. This fairytale castle is located in the hills of the southern German village of Hohenschwangau. Constructed over a period of 23 years it was finished in 1892 and commissioned by  Ludwig II of Bavaria as his retreat. I have a hard enough time getting the boys to clean our place as it is. I’d never get them to clean this place. Though, I suppose if we had a place like this we wouldn’t have to clean it. We’d be able to hire someone to do it. 10 days later the puzzle is nearly completed. It looks just like the image here except it’s 2 feet by 3 feet.

2. Does a rocket launch put pressure on your chest?

Crash is concerned about this because he has expressed interest in being an astronaut when he grows up. I would be seriously jealous of him should he ever get the chance to leave Earth’s gravity. Anyway, he’s concerned that because of his heart surgery he won’t get to live the dream. We felt we needed clearance from his doctor to do Tae Kwon Do. Nevermind the g-forces getting to space would exert. It’s 3. Three g’s is equivalent to weighing three times what you do on Earth. I’m only twice his weight. So yes, there’s a bit of pressure. I explained to him that there are many other jobs than just going to space. There are the rocket builders, the space suit builders. There are astronaut trainers, doctors, high tech command controllers. There’s also a lot of math.

3. Who wrote the bible?

This one arose while standing in church one Sunday morning. It’s one the few places Crash and Bang play nicely together, even though they’re not supposed to be playing at all. Anyway, the Bible was written over a period of about 1,500 years. It is comprised of 66 books and 1,189 chapters. It has about 40 authors – 30 in the Old Testament and 10 in the New Testament. Many regard Moses as the original author. I’m not that old. Though, if I keep being woken up at 5 am by two kids, I’m sure I’ll feel as old as Moses.

4. Did you get my water bottle?

True story. Yesterday morning we’re headed out the door. Bang and I were going to drop off Mom and Crash at school so we could have the truck to go to playgroup. Three of us were already in the truck, fully buckled and waiting patiently. DW comes out of the front door with her arm load of school stuff and hollers to me. I didn’t understand. All the windows were up, the heat was blasting inferno the boys were chatting. I give her a quizzical look and the I don’t know what you just said, hands in the air gesture. She repeats herself. This time I catch something about her water bottle. At a quick glance I see it in her hand (along with her lunch and school bag) and think she asked me if I filled it. I open my door and am about to tell her, “No I didn’t fill it” when she hollers, “Did you get my water bottle?” That’s when she realizes it’s in her hand.

We got a good laugh out of it. I told her that’s a question for Friday’s blog questions. So here it is. Have I seen your water bottle? Yes, it’s in your other hand. The last time you did that you were pregnant with our first born. And if you’re preggo now, you’ve got some explaining to do.

keep-calm-and-go-ask-your-father

5 thoughts on “Go Ask Your Father: Bavaria, Blast Offs, Bible, and A Bottle

    • LOL I wish. Royalty or not, I’d still be on WP 🙂 Kate Middleton can’t me tell her kids are so perfect she’d have nothing to blog about. Technically, Nanny Moe and Pop do have a castle, it just happens to be just a picture of one.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

