Locked In

leary2

PHOTO PROMPT©Erin Leary

Read Chapters 1-4 (they’re all 100 word stories)

Chapter 5

Dempsey hated the water. “Nova Scotia water’s too cold” he would complain. But I knew as soon as I saw this house on our trip to Kejimkujik National Park I had to have it. It only cost a couples day’s pay, no skin off his back. Bonus? Brogan and I could leave for a week, unencumbered. In the summer, the lake was full of life and sound. Come winter, the ice flows locked everything in.

Much like Dempsey had done to Brogan for those three days. He was shivering as if he were out in the cold, Canadian wind. His room reeked of piss and shit.


Read chapter 6

This is a continuation of an experiment. Each week there is a 100 word short story photo prompt challenge posed by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. My challenge to myself is to connect these photos into one seamless story. Click the blue frog to read other stories inspired by this photo.

15 thoughts on “Locked In

  1. This is one of those times when I’m more curious about the photo. 😛 I just have to know…how in the heck do you pronounce the name of that park?! I’m assuming it’s a real place… Have you been there?

    On the story addition… 🙂 I liked the way you brought in some of what was happening in the present, how the narrator wants to provide some sense of relief for the child. A very real, very human, very parent-y thing.

    Like

    • It’s pronounced kejum-koo-jik. It is inded real. It’s Nova Scotia’s only national park. I haven’t been there, yet. As for the story, I’m trying to keep it in real time but also give glimpses of the past as to why they left in such a hurry. Thanks for picking up on all parenty stuff 🙂

      Like

      • Ahh, okay. Future vacation site? 🙂

        The parenty stuff felt very natural (well, as a parent, I can certainly relate). Also it’s what a lot of parents in that situation would want…a chance for their kid to just be a kid.

        Like

      • I would love to do some hiking and camping there. It’s beautiful. Unfortunately, it’s about a five hour drive. This spot is her safe haven she escapes to with her son. Which, apparently, I have conveyed in my story 🙂

        Like

  2. Pingback: The Kidnap | All In A Dad's Work

  3. Pingback: Dead Threat | All In A Dad's Work

  4. Pingback: Dead Weight Lifted | All In A Dad's Work

  5. Pingback: Hide and Seek | All In A Dad's Work

Leave a Reply

