Go Ask Your Father

Question_Block

photo from Mario Wiki

My blog buddy, Eli, does this thing on Fridays where he answers his kids questions. Since Crash and Bang ask their fair share of questions, I though I could emulate him. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, right?

What I suck at is remembering the questions they ask. They usually ask at the two most inopportune times. I either don’t have pen and paper or the cell phone on me to make note of it. Or I’m driving and can’t note it anywhere.

So relying on memory is a poor substitute as both my mom and DW can testify to.

Today, there’s only one question to answer because that’s the only question I remember being asked.

1. What if there was an earthquake on the whole world?

Finally, I get to talk about plate tectonics. Asked at bedtime, no doubt, to delay going to sleep. Much like his brother just HAD to show me how to whip and nae nae 15 minutes after the lights were turned off.

Land sits on these giant plates of rock. Those giant plates sit on the mantle. The mantle is made of liquid rock, but it’s more like the consistency of oatmeal. Maple and brown sugar to be more precise. So when one plate moves it scrapes or bumps into another plate and where they bump and scrape makes an earthquake. But because the Earth’s outer core is liquid iron and nickel (thanks to the inner core being as hot as the sun) the shockwaves from the earthquake can’t pass through it. That liquid iron and nickel absorb the waves rather than transfer them. Because of this, the whole Earth can’t shake.

It can’t whip and nae nae either.

So there can’t be a whole Earth earthquake because of the way the Earth is made.

2. Can you do the password?

Okay, I lied. I remembered a second question. It gets asked every single day. Sometimes, Crash asks it several times. The password? It’s a four digit code that DW and I use on his tablet. In order to play on his tablet he needs one of us to type in the magic digits. This way he can’t sneak more time on it. Otherwise, he ends up with headaches.

Yes. I can do the password. Will I? Well, that depends.

He even tries the “I’m just putting on YouTube songs for Bang” trick. After one song he’s suddenly playing games. Nice try, chach. Now to teach him to monitor his own time.


 

I’m going to try to start remembering to write down their questions. I know for a fact that DW has fielded many. Her memory is usually sharper than mine. If my memory is as sharp as a marble that makes her a Ginsu. Except that time she forgot her granola bar. I walk across the entire parking lot to get a granola bar out of the car that she forgot she was holding in her other hand. So she was pregnant with our first born. Is that any excuse? (Yes. Yes it is, actually)

16 thoughts on “Go Ask Your Father

  1. There is this hilarious book called, “What If? Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions.” Totally reminds me of your first question, and had me laughing, and learning, each night before bed. My guess is it’s too much for the kiddos, but it may be something you enjoy if you can explain why the whole world can’t have an earthquake, without having to google it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is great! My son does the same thing with the password for our itunes account. We have them locked out so they can’t go crazy with downloads. My favorite is how he always waits until we are walking out the door to ask me to buy a song!

    Happy Saturday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t they always make their requests at the most inopportune times? They wait until our hands are full to ask for help. They wait until we’re ready to walk out the door to spring something on us. Their intuition for this is uncanny 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

