Once Upon A Wish

Once upon a time, I used to wish to have a baby girl. Sugar. Spice. Everything nice. Pony tails and painted nails. Tea parties and cute dresses. Turns out my Y’s are faster swimmers than my X’s so we only make boys. Welcome to the boys womb. Where there’s always, dirt, noise, and pee on the toilet seat.

Just like my parents before me, we have two boys, Crash and Bang. Perhaps you’ve heard a bit about them? We have been asked numerous times if we’re going to try for a girl. We’re good with two boys. I’ve heard stories about people “trying for a girl” and end up with 6 boys. No thanks. We’re good.

If I am their Superadad, they are my Supersons. We fight off villains with Nerf guns. We embark on grand adventures through the high grasses of the small field behind our yard. We climb trees and “mine for gold” (aka dig holes in the mud). We slop when we eat and we rarely make in the toilet when we pee.

Their energy knows no bounds. They show no signs of slowing down any time soon, either. That’s okay. I wouldn’t want them, too. Trampolining, playgrounds and bike rides in the summertime. Sledding, snowballs, snowmen, and igloos through the winter. After all of this they still have the energy to play inside. Legos, floor hockey, and sword fights. Hide and seek, jumping on beds, and practical jokes (everyone loves a good scare except the person getting scared).

They drive us absolutely insane sometimes. They kick off their muddy boots. Literally. Mud right up the walls. Wet snow clothes in heap by the back door. Toys strewn everywhere. The video game craze and all things Minecraft, Mario, Lego and trucks of every kind. Everything they touch falls to pieces. Some of the stuff they broke we thought should be indestructible. Guess we should have known  better.

They make us laugh. They decide at bedtime, after fifteen minutes of laying quietly, that it’s time show us how to do the whip and nae nae dance they learned at school. Stanky leg included. They come screaming down a hill on a sled and hit the jump at the bottom then hit the ground rolling with laughter. Then do it again and again. They talk to themselves while sitting on the toilet having a poo. And he’s not done pooing until he’s done talking to himself so don’t bother interrupting. They tell the same joke a thousand times because it was funny the first time. But mostly because it’s the first real joke they learned to tell.

What do you call cheese that doesn’t belong to you?
Nacho cheese.

They make us say things we never dreamed we would say. Stop playing with your pee pee. Don’t touch your brother’s pee pee either! Where are your pants? Don’t sit on your bother’s head. Don’t fart on his head either. Who wiped their booger on the couch? Who peed in the garbage can?

But most of all, they make us feel loved. When we find ourselves in a quiet moment, they snuggle up so close we can feel their breathing slow as they drift off to sleep. When all they want is a hug. When they think of each other and want to buy two chocolates instead of just one for themselves. When we get a random “I love you” from them for no reason other than to remind us.

I no longer wish to have girls. We may not be all ponytails, painted nails and everything nice around our house. But we do have a well balanced life of love, happiness and frustration. Or perhaps we just love to be happily frustrated?

tractors-trucks-and-toys-theres-nothing-quite-like-little-boys-printed-trucks-cute-inspirational-home-vinyl-wall-quotes-decals-sayings-art-lettering_156218

 

27 thoughts on “Once Upon A Wish

  1. We wanted a boy, but instead had a girl. I wouldn’t want it any other way though. When I was pregnant we planned on having another one, but towards the end of my pregnancy we decided one kid is enough for us. If we decide to have another kid, it’ll be through adoption. I love my daughter to the moon and back, but pregnancy is for the birds! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Quite true…there are so many things parenthood brings to our lives…and sometimes it’s very particular to the gender of children you have. I’m surrounded by boys, too (Runt 1 and Runt 2, and the husband – even the cat is male). Sometimes I’d like to have more feminine energy around, to share my love of ballet and Downton Abbey and bright colors and pretty dresses. But I was meant to have boys, for whatever reason, so I’m good with it, and I hope I can be the best mummy they need me to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • No matter if we’re given boys, girls or both, it’s always exactly right for us. While it would be interesting to offset all the boyish tendencies in our house, I’m guessing a daughter/sister would just follow suit with her brothers and the chaos wouldn’t be any different.

      Like

  3. Peeing in a trash can?!

    Before we found out we were having a girl, I was hoping for another little boy. My feminine side lacks so much, so I thought another boy would be easier. (That’s what parenting is about, right, “easier”?) Of course now that Baby Girl is here, I wouldn’t have it any other way, either.

    Like

  4. Best post ever!!! I was lucky to get one of each and I have amazing kids. I have learned they each have their differences. I got a girl that is just. like. me and believe the term “payback” is what my parents would call it.😏

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The garbage can must have stunk! Heee..Hee! I’ve always preferred boys as I didn’t want to deal with all the girly stuff. But we are blessed to have 1 of each, the only thing is I can’t do hand-me down clothes for long without having to be gender bias. That said, I wouldn’t have it any other way either. And with them being do boisterous, it doesn’t really matter -boy or girl, they are healthy and that’s what counts.As for the frustrations, I guess that will linger for a while, Eric.

    I wonder what it’ll be if we’d gone for the 3rd. But that’s not going to happen anymore! We are done. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • The garbage can was okay. Better than peeing their pants. It was in there less than an hour. All 3 times. The first I didn’t say anything. So the second time was as much my fault so I spoke to him then. I figured now that I’ve spoken to him he won’t do it again. Lesson learned. I hid the can after the 3rd time. No matter combination of how many you decide, it always ends up being perfect. But I do wonder sometimes what a third would be like 🙂 that situation has been remedied.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

