Life Happens

Have you ever had the best plan ever, then something unforeseen happens. Or perhaps just normal, every day routine happens. But your best plan ever never happens. Life happens.

Back in January, I set a goal for myself. I wanted to run a thousand miles this year. It’s the second year in a row I’ve set this goal. It’s the second year in a row I’ve failed. Perhaps three’s the charm? Anyway, I just looked at my running log. It’s been 57 days since I ran last. Really? Yep, on October 15th I ran 10k. Haven’t run since.

Thanks life.

I’ve been trying to figure out when I can get my runs in. I could go early in the morning. However, I can’t justify getting up at 5 am for a run. Plus, the kids are light sleepers in the mornings. Our squeaky floors would surely wake them. I could go right after school. However, that’s play time with the kids for an hour before it’s time to get supper on the go. Until Crash starts getting homework. Once that happens, homework will come first, then play.

I could go after the kids are in bed. That’s when I used to go most often. I don’t mind running in the dark. Actually, I used to look forward to it if it was snowing. The silence that comes with newly fallen snow is incredible. Pair that with the darkness and the Earth becomes a magical wonderland. However, the evenings have become us time for DW and I. The kids are in bed and all is quiet. So we watch a couple shows on TV. Do I give up time with the kids to go running? Do I give up time with DW to go running? Ain’t no way in hell I can make that decision.

But, I will get back into it. All that endorphin and “me time” is a needed factor in every life. Thanks to a post and a small discussion with Dave over at Runs Wit Faust, I will indeed be getting back on the road. Back on the trail, too. Running in the woods is even better. But I can’t go there after dark. I’m lucky I don’t get lost during the day let alone at night. Plus there are things that might eat me at night. I’d rather have supper than be supper.

Prior to this break from running, I would run for nearly an hour. Perhaps if I shorten my runs to a half hour (for now) I can make the time to go running. Something has got to be better than nothing, right? And perhaps I can rotate when I go – sometimes after school, sometimes after the kids go to bed. Or perhaps life will find something else for me to do.

But I hope not, because I like running and running likes me. And my poor running shoes miss me dearly.

22 thoughts on “Life Happens

  1. Pingback: Commentition Delicious December 2015 | I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

  2. i know this feeling all too well. the last thing i want is guilt for taking the time each day to do something (healthy) for myself. the thing is…i’m a better me when i’m working out and giving myself a break. i have to find a way to fit in in at least 4 times a week…or everything else seems to slip right along with it. so…GO…hit the trails. it doesn’t have to be EVERY afternoon or EVERY evening or EVERY morning…but one from each of those in a week isn’t going to hurt anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Even a short run is better than no run at all! πŸ™‚ Even if you can only squeeze a 20-minute run in your day… Good luck with your goal, it’s a fantastic one! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A great post that any parent who struggles to find that “me” time can relate to….and I suppose that’s all of us. But in the end, whether it’s a half hour or an hour, just finding that time for ourselves, doing something we love, makes us better parents and spouses, even if it takes us away from our dear ones for a few hours a week. Keep running!

    Like

  5. Pingback: LifeΒ Happens | ~The Pink Lemonade Ladies~

  6. Thank you for sharing! As long as you keep your mind open to the possibilities, you will work it all out! We parents do best when we get creative about fitting everything in. It keeps us sharp and role models to our kids that things don’t always turn out the way we plan, and we can roll with it all anyway. Happy running! 😊

    Like

  7. I’m right there with you with the second year failing at the SAME resolution. Except I don’t run (yet). I’m just supposed to send birthday cards to my loved ones and I can’t even get my life together enough to do THAT! HA! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Resolutions can be tough! I read some where that it helps to break it into baby steps. So for 2016 I’ll take month by month. Perhaps if I set a monthly goal it’ll be easier to stick to. Good luck with those b-day cards!

      Like

Leave a Reply

