Story People

I’ve got something to share with you. Amazing stories.

Because there’s a story for everyone and Brian Andreas has written them. His about page describes him as “equal parts gentle Zen monk & wildly exuberant child, bubbling over with laughter & love & snark.”

What would you get if you combined Christmas, Halloween, and April Fool’s Day? Or if you combined a Whopper, a Big Mac and a White Castle Slider? Or perhaps an M&M, a malted Whopper and a peanut butter cup? You would get a story by Brian Andreas. Ooey gooey with a bit sweet and bit silly.

It was many many moons ago now, a friend introduced me to “Story People” by Brian. He’s part artist and part story teller. The best part is, he doesn’t write your usual run of the mill stories. It’s more like he was writing for some of these challenges I see on WordPress.  Like the 1o0 word story challenge. A two sentence story. Or even a six word story. Brian’s stories are some kind of combination of all three. They’re incredible. And they’re less than fifty words.

Ten or fifteen (or perhaps a millennium ago) I happened upon a Story People gallery in Annapolis, Maryland. That’s where I really came to love his artwork and stories. We now have four stories framed and hanging in our living room. Here’s one…

strangest person

Courtesy of Brian Andreas

If you’re like me, you will lose a few hours of your day reading them.

I love his stories. I love his artwork. It’ll get you right in the feel goods. Pull your heartstrings. Turn your frown upside down and any other happy cliché you can imagine.

We have these two framed on our living room wall as well…

I read once that the ancient Egyptians had fifty words for sand & the Eskimos had a hundred words for snow. I wish I had a thousand words for love, but all that comes to mind is the way you move against me while you sleep & there are no words for that.

Some days I wonder how my kids will turn out, but most of the time I’m just figuring out how to survive them right now.

Brian’s Stories
Story People’s Blog

*I was not asked, commanded, paid, cajoled, or commissioned to write this for Brian. I just wanted to share this piece of creative happiness with you. Enjoy!*

7 thoughts on “Story People

  1. Pingback: My Picks Of The Week #50 | A Momma's View

Leave a Reply

