The Edge of Forever

PHOTO PROMPT ©The Reclining Gentleman

PROMPT
©The Reclining Gentleman

I saw him sitting there blankly staring into the calmness of the river far below. I stopped my bus and called out to him.

Hey, come down from there!
There’s only one way down. This is how it ends.
No. There’s always two sides. Good and evil. Heaven and Hell. Living and dying.
Not for me. I’m done. I’m just a small step away from ending my suffering.
No. You’re one small step away from beginning again.

I climbed on to the rail with him. It was a long way down. Come get on my bus. I’ll take you home.


This is a story in 100 words or fewer for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle-Wisoff-Fields based on the photo above. Click the blue frog to read more stories inspired by this photo!

6 thoughts on “The Edge of Forever

Leave a Reply

