The Hidden Illnesses

Anxiety. Depression. Bi-polar. Grieving. Anger. Stress. Psychosis. Anorexia. Bulimia. PTSD. Mental illness comes in many shapes and sizes and colors. It can easily camouflage itself from those it affects and from those who surround the affected. Diagnosis can be difficult, especially if those who need the help aren’t seeking it. Perhaps they don’t feel it’ll work. Perhaps they don’t believe they need it.

For a little while I was believing the world was getting past the stigma of mental illness. There is a fear of being weak. A fear of appearing crazy. Or psycho. There’s a fear of not being normal, whatever normal may be. However, I’ve come to discover there are still those out there battling, struggling without seeking the proper support for these exact reasons. The stigma and silence needs to be broken.

If you break your ankle, what’s the first thing you do? Go to the hospital for x-rays and they put a cast or a boot on it, give you crutches, tell you to keep off it for a couple weeks, and send you on your way. You seek help. You get the support you need for that ankle to heal properly.

Realizing you have a mental deficiency is a bit trickier to recognize than a broken ankle. There’s no physical pain. There’s nothing to x-ray. Doctors can’t put a cast on it. Crutches and an ice compression are useless. In many cases, those who struggle with mental illness may not even know it and therefore won’t seek the help they need. Essentially, their mental illness never receives proper treatment and therefore never heals.

If left untreated, in the long run, a year, five years, ten years maybe, the struggle could prove to be too much. At best, they suffer alone in silence trying to cope. At second best, they make their illness more visible through actions and or their words yet refuse to get help. At worst, they decide to end the struggle themselves.

Mental illness can often be covered with a mask, hidden from the world behind a smile. Who would have guessed that Robin Williams battled depression his whole life? He was comedian who loved to make people laugh. Surely, someone as outgoing and funny as Mr. Williams couldn’t be depressed.

I’ve been thinking about this for the past year. A year ago I didn’t have a blog. Now I have a blog, I have a voice to the world. So I’m taking the next few days to write about this because I think it’s something that needs discussing. We need to break the stigma and end the silence that surrounds the topic of mental health?

Read part two- Breaking the Silence written by my wife about her battle with depression and getting through it.

12 thoughts on “The Hidden Illnesses

  1. Personally, I think that one of the biggest problems is people who have mental and/or psychological issues are constantly being “reassured” that there’s nothing wrong with them (especially kids, because there’s this weird belief that kids CAN’T have mental problems). it might sound like a good thing to be “reassured”, but when you’re clinically depressed and everyone around you keeps saying things like, “Oh, you’re not depressed, you’re just a little sad,” it makes things so much worse because you start to doubt yourself, while still dealing with all the very real symptoms of your condition.

    This is the reason why, for about ten or so months now, I’ve made a point of letting my coworkers know that I have an anxiety problem and it is triggered by public travel (those stupid buses we have to ride to and from work). I’m sure to say it with authority, in a matter-of-fact way that tells them, “Don’t argue with me. I’m telling you the way it is, and you’re going to accept that this is the way it is”, because when people try to argue with me it just makes me anxious about the fact that I’m anxious. But if everyone knows, and I’ve made sure that they understand just what I’m dealing with, it actually makes the anxiety less. I know that if I have a panic attack on the bus there won’t be a bunch of people staring at me wondering why I’ve got my eyes squeezed shut and I’m breathing so loud…they just think, “Oh, Tracey’s having a bad day today, but she knows how to handle herself so I’ll just leave her be.”

    At least, that’s my method!

    Liked by 2 people

    • When those supporting the affected are feeding reassurances that they’re okay, there’s nothing wrong kind of support, it’s natural the person won’t get the help they need. So many think depression=sadness. And the same people can’t seem to figure out why anxiety is trigger by such “mundane” things. Thanks for your awesome response!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Breaking the Silence! | All In A Dad's Work

  3. Pingback: My Picks Of The Week #41 | A Momma's View

Leave a Reply

