Some weird stats…

Is the WordPress stats page reliable? Maybe it’s just my writing. Last Friday and Saturday I had 121 views between the two days. Since Sunday, over a four day period, I’ve only had 46 people come to read my posts.
Last Friday I was writing about our vacation so my tags were traveling related. Perhaps those tags drew more people? Hmmm…

Do you find that certain topics tend to draw in more views and visitors? Do you stick with those topics or do you cover various subjects?

28 thoughts on “Some weird stats…

  1. Interesting… Yes, I find some topics don’t really bring people over. But there is also a group of followers who seem to be happy to come and visit anyway, which is fantastic. Maybe it’s the tagging? Just keep up what you are doing. Or the time you post? I find that if I post outside of certain times those posts kind of get lost. Figure out what time works best for you. When do you get the most feedback right after posting? That might help???

    Like

  2. Interesting. I usually see my stats drop on the weekends but I actually have less time to interact on Saturday and Sunday. I do think when my posts are more specific on aspects of my daughter’s sensory processing disorder I see less traffic but if I write about something like sleep regression which more parents relate to I see more likes and views. But I will continue to write about SPD because it is an important part of our lives now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been slacking a bit in the reading of and commenting on other’s posts lately. I know that is one thing that has help my blog. I do find that more general topics tend to draw more readers than the specific ones. Thanks a million for your input!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hmm. I had a good Tuesday this week. Above average for this month. Other days have been low, but mainly because I haven’t been posting during the peak blogging times. Timing is very important.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My stats graph tends to look like a failed polygraph exam- spikes and drops, ups and downs…one day 200 views, one day 10 views… I have tried adding some tags like “writing”, “blog”, “blogging”, but I find that for the most part they generate “false” hits…drive-by likes that don’t actually increase views.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You sneaky blogger. Tricking people into visiting πŸ™‚ This blogging thing is weird. Hard to tell what people will like but I’m still gaining some followers here and there. Love the analogy to a failed polygraph… clever!

      Like

      • Haha, yes, I read a few posts on how to increase your blog traffic! Honestly, I did not care for the results. I would rather tag as usual and have the interaction of comments from the great group of friends I have come to know here on WordPress. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly. No matter what the stats say I’m still going to write what I want and publish when I want. I do enjoy the interactions and comments from my WordPress friends. Sometimes WP is my new FB πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. Brother, if I could only understand what drives traffic. It’s all day by day, week by week. My best advice? Just write. I know as guys we like the stats. I’ll always check and compare and want to improve. The best way I can do this is write as best I can.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Well said, Eli. I really do enjoy the stats page – even more so when the numbers are bigger. I just write. If it gets the numbers great, if not, I’m going to write anyway. There’s so many influences outside of writing that will bring readers – commenting on other’s posts, posting to various social media, the time you post, etc… It’s certainly quite the jigsaw puzzle!

      Like

  6. I don’t check my stats! :p Maybe once in a few months…and when I do, I get weird stuff too, but nothing that says there’s some sort of pattern or popular days. Some days I don’t post, I still a lityle views. And we already know that I can’t even track my “likes”..πŸ˜…

    Like

    • LOL I wasn’t really looking for help πŸ™‚ I was just wondering what everyone else thought of their stats. There really doesn’t seem to be a “Best fit” pattern, though I have looked at my stats up close and in detail. Sometime I post in the morning, sometimes the afternoon and sometimes late at night. I try to post 5 times a week, but what and when people come to read seems pretty random.

      Like

      • Sooooo random, I ‘ve given up figuring it out. Some of my posts gets over a 100 likes and I’m still scratching my head as there’s not that many views to shout about. I tried with GA abt a month back, just to see if it makes sense..and I hadn’t bothered to check. LOL. I really have to make an effort on that! Oh well..numbers. I prefer it if those numbers get on my paycheck!!!! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • My stats shoing up as a paycheck would be ideal! Oh well, those number will be what they will be and will write what I right regardless. There was one day I had 80 views and only 1 visitor.That really confused me until I found out it was my DW going through all my posts at work.

        Like

  7. I take all those with a grain of salt, especially when I see that I suddenly had a lot of interest from Brazil, per say. I try to be consistent, which can be a challenge. Sometimes I see higher stats when I post 3-4 times per week, and sometimes posting once on a Friday night drives more traffic.
    I don’t think I’ll ever figure it out, but it’s fun to check.

    Like

    • Thanks for your response πŸ™‚ It can be a fun game to play. Some post I write I think “they’re going to love this one” then it gets nothing. Then I write something I think won’t get anything and it’s just the opposite. Not that I’m writing for the views and likes, but it does make it a bit more fun my posts are getting them. I usually get consistent stats when I’m posting regularly. But last Friday/Saturday it spiked from the teens to the 70’s!

      Like

Leave a Reply

