10 Years and Counting

Here we are 10 years ago

Here we are 10 years ago

The ten year anniversary is Tin/Aluminum. I wholly expect to receive a can of Coke Cola. I think I’ll change the tradition to glass and replace her bottle of Mother’s Day wine I sorta kinda drank.

Anyway, I’ll try to keep this story as short as possible. I’ll try not to bore you with details. Ten years ago today DW and I said our I Do’s.

I proposed a year before on a rock at the cottage we visit frequently (to skip rocks) amongst family and friends. She couldn’t return with me because we would have had to get married within 90 days. That’s not what we wanted. So upon the end of summer vacation, I returned to Virginia to teach while she stayed in Canada to teach. We made a few visits between those two summers. Thankfully, we had the technology to easily keep in touch. After a year’s engagement and lots of planning across two countries, our wedding day was finally upon us.

We’ve been through two immigrations, financial woes, heart surgery on our first born, and countless other stresses and have emerged stronger in our relationship and as individuals.

She keeps life fun. Just this morning she called the radio station to request our newest favorite song “Thinking Out Loud” by Ed Sheeran and we danced in the kitchen. The only difference between this “first” dance and our original first dance is that this time we had a 4 year old squirm his way in between us while his nearly 8 year old brother watched curiously. And after all this time, I still can’t dance.

Happy anniversary lover!
XOXOXO

10 thoughts on “10 Years and Counting

Leave a Reply

