Our New Baby

baby girl

We have ourselves a new baby girl! She came to us on Tuesday and we brought her home on Thursday. She is 14 feet 9 inches long and weighs 3,435 pounds. She is so adorable! Oh, she is green with a bluetooth, too.

our baby

We are over the moon excited. Crash and Bang love her. I hope they treat her well.
Thanks to everyone who offered suggestions. I was looking for something that had decent gas mileage while DW wanted something roomy – perhaps for long trips and beach excursions.

We test drove numerous vehicles.  A Rav4. Fair gas mileage. Roomy. Expensive. Prius V. That one was sweet. A hybrid station wagon essentially that gets 58 miles per gallon. Expensive. A Prius. A hybrid sedan. It’s downfall was the rear window. It was too hard to see through. It’s 61 miles per gallon was pretty sweet though. We drove a Tucson. It’s gas mileage wasn’t quite good enough. These were all new cars we were testing out.

After some thought and discussion we decided we wanted to buy used. We didn’t like the idea of the depreciation value just by driving a new car off the lot. We looked for used vehicles we test drove but could find nothing local. Then the car gods smiled upon us last Tuesday. We went to the Toyota dealership for the third time in a week. We told a salesman we we liked the Rav4’s, but were looking for one that was a couple years old with low mileage and he smiled and said “I just got one in last weekend. 2013. 27,000 kilometers. Still has 2 years of warranty and it’s green.” We told him we’d like to see it. When we saw it coming around the building I heard a soft “Oh hubband” and I knew this car was going to be ours.

We test drove and fell in love with it. Not only was it exactly what we were looking for but it was our color. Every car we’ve owned together (with the exception of the car we just replaced) has been green. We had a green Jeep Wrangler, a green Mitsubishi Outlander, and a green Corolla. This green Rav4 was meant for us. It chose us. Bang asked us, “Can we keep it forever?” Yes. Let’s keep this one forever.

Our next purchase will be a dragonfly charm to decorate it.

19 thoughts on “Our New Baby

  1. Good luck with the “treated gently” thing! I say that every time we get a new car and it never happens. lol
    In all seriousness though, I love the RAV4 myself, I just didn’t think it was worth the cost, but if you managed to get one with a bit of warranty at a decent price that’s awesome! Maybe in a few months we’ll pick up a Rogue or a Mazda5 and the girls can play. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL “And the girls can play” Your hubster was telling me you two had checked out the Mazdas. Rogues are nice, too. We had ours to the ‘Nish yesterday… sweet ride. And so many buttons to play with!

      Like

      • I love buttons. lol Does your new baby have any upgraded features? My major problem with the RAV4 was that the base model (with no fun stuff) actually cost more than my dad’s fully-loaded Nissan Rogue. It wouldn’t kill me to have a base model, of course, it just didn’t seem logical to spend more money on less options.

        Like

      • Not sure what’s upgraded in. It has bluetooth, back up camera, roof rails, tinted rear windows. The Rogues are pretty nice. Though without a Nissan dealer around here we didn’t get to see any of those.

        Like

      • Yeah, that’s the only thing; if we were to get a Nissan or a Mazda we’d have to travel for service. XP
        The back-up camera is nice, isn’t it? I definitely want one of those in whatever I get!

        Like

      • That was the main reason we chose something local. But you guys travel “up north” fairly frequently enough that it’s probably not too big of a deal for you.

        Like

  2. Congratulations : ) We are actually car shopping today. It is probably one of my least favorite things to do, but my husband keeps thinking if I just come with him I’ll learn to love it. We also always buy used, and that’s worked well for us. Enjoy your new baby!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! We love it. The kids won’t let me move until they are fully buckled and can watch the back up camera. My wife loves the bluetooth. I love that everyone’s happy 🙂 Good luck car shopping. It wasn’t one of my favorite things to do. But it did give us a good idea of what we wanted.

      Like

      • Well, we sort of ‘cheated’. Since we live in NYC, we only drive our baby on weekends. Or when we ‘do’ a road trip. But still. We have had that car a darned long time, and see no reason to get a new one. Funny story, though. I make movies (when I’m not writing blog posts). I like to listen to the radio for music ideas for my soundtracks. I was telling The Child about using the Shazam app to find out the names of songs/artists and wondered aloud why DJs don’t give you this info like they used to. She said, ‘But Mom. Car radios SHOW the names of songs now!’ Had no idea.

        Liked by 1 person

      • HAHAHA I just discovered that myself. The touch screen displays the station, station name, song and artist. Our ’02 Corolla didn’t have that capability either. Talk about getting with the times 😀

        Like

  3. Hi,
    I’m Janice from Reflections. I have three daughters. Girls are fun. Congratulations!
    I’m starting my family vacation and do not have consistent Internet access, but I wanted to thank you for visiting my site. I’m glad you liked my post about putting graphics in comments. Nice to meet you.
    Janice

    Like

  4. Pingback: Y is for … Go Ask Your Father: Dealerships, Babies, Passwords, and Freebies #atozchallenge | All In A Dad's Work

Leave a Reply

