The First Fight

kitche-picture-prompt“I just cleaned the kitchen. Put your glass in the dishwasher.” I stood at the sink prepared to leave it and deal with it later.
“Either place, it’s where it needs to be.”
“We’ve been married a week and you’re going to get lazy?”
“Lazy? Who works their tail off so we can afford a nice place like this?”
“Who works to keep it this nice?”
Blood boiled. I threw that dirty glass. It smashed on the wall. She stormed out. Crying.

I didn’t want our first fight to be over a dirty glass. In the dishwasher it went.


This is a story in 100 words or fewer for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle-Wisoff-Fields based on the photo above. Click the blue frog to read more stories inspired by this photo!

20 thoughts on “The First Fight

  1. This is very realistic fiction! It’s the little things that aren’t so little, right? You captured this slice of the make-the-marriage-work dance very well! πŸ™‚ By the way, for me, it closing the cupboard doors. He opens them and never closes them…I close them because he is the best man I’ve ever known. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved this, very wise to imagine the outcome before it materializes. Especially after only a week. I’m a neatnik, and hubby is a slob, we manage, but yes, there were many fights in the early days. The best thing is, he doesn’t offer, give, or suggest decorating ideas, and gives me complete permission for what I want/buy. It’s a perfect match, except for the socks on the living room floor. Every time I bend over to pick them up I remind myself – he doesn’t interfere, he doesn’t interfere, and he always claims he loves my decisions. Perfect!

    Like

    • Thank you so much. Those first months is a big learning curve. Sounds like you and your hubby have a good deal made. My wife doesn’t like cooking much so she lets me decide what’s for supper most night since I enjoy it. She’s never complained (with the exception of the night I burnt the stew).

      Like

  3. Ah, the intricate choreography of the marriage dance. This couple are off to a good start – as long as she learns her steps as well as he obviously has. An insightful portrayal of a new relationship.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: June in Review | All In A Dad's Work

Leave a Reply

