Leg 6? Seriously, Leg 6!

Leg 1was the two and a half hour drive to the airport. Leg 2 was my first two hour flight to New York.  Leg 3 was my second two hour flight to Atlanta where I met my brother coming over from South Korea. Leg 4 was our two hour flight to Baltimore. Leg 5 was the hour and a half drive home (my parents house).

Leg 6 is happening right now, a 13 hour drive to Gainsville, Florida. University of Florida. Home of The Gators.

image

It’s where my aunt and uncle live so I’ve been a gator fan forever. My best guessis that it’s been 30 years since I’ve been to Gainsville. Nothing exciting to report other than our GPS voice sounds like a poor Elvis impersonator.

Aaaaaaaand, we’re here! 14 hours later. I’ll post some photos tomorrow when it’s daylight. There are palm trees here! It’s been about 18 years since I was here last. Memories have been coming back steadily since starting this trip. They’re coming faster now that I’m here. Chasing lizards, Ironwood golf course, swimming until the chlorine clouded my vision, feeding the pelicans and seagulls at the beach, playing War and Go Fish on white carpet, racing the elevator to the 7th floor by running up the stairs.

Ever visited a place you haven’t been to in a very long time to have memories come flooding back?

3 thoughts on “Leg 6? Seriously, Leg 6!

  1. Definitely. I went back to my hometown quite regularly before coming to Japan, but I always had memories come back. But things have changed so much in the past 10 years. I was last there in 2004 for my grandfather’s 86th birthday. We stayed at my aunt and uncle’s. Since then, my aunt has passed away (lung cancer), my uncle has remarried, and my cousin has married and had 2 kids. I’ll go there again next year. I think I’ll have a lot of memories come back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just chased a lizard out by the pool. Haven’t done that for 25 years! It’s so nice to have these memories which will I will miss whenIi leave. Fortunately, I’ll still have the memories!

      Like

Leave a Reply

