My Bedtime Guide for DW

My dearest DW,

You are such a strong woman. Beautiful, too. I wish I didn’t have to make this trip alone. I want nothing more than you, Crash and Bang to join me. I also wish I wasn’t making this trip for the reason I am. But, it is what it is.

For the next week you will be on your own with those two lovable terrors. I have no doubt in my mind that you will do what needs to be done and, come the end of it all, you will realize that you enjoyed it. It won’t be easy. That I know. Getting two monkeys ready for bed can be a bit tricky. You’re going to need a few tricks.

1) Make Crash get himself ready for bed. He gets in pajamas while Bang gets his teeth brushed, gets a drink (probably spits it into the sink), pees and washes his hands. You’ll have to check on Crash between each of those steps to fuss at him to get a move on.

2) Then Bang goes to his room to get lotioned, in pajamas, and read a few of his favorite books (at the moment they are Diego Saves a Butterfly, Diego Saves the Polar Bears, and Lego Firetruck Rescue) – he’ll show you. Get him to help you read one. He has them nearly memorized. Again, between each step get Crash back on task. He brushes his teeth, rinses, pees and washes his hands then goes to read until Bang is asleep. He’ll read for hours if it mean he gets to stay up later.

3) Turn out Bang’s light and close the door and turn on his star frog light. Lay with him until he falls asleep then go to Crash’s room. Ask him about what he read and hopefully he can recall what happened. This is when I read to him a book of my choosing or he reads to himself and I read my own book. Then it’s lights out and star frog light on. As soon as you crawl in with him he’ll ask for back scratches. Start snoring while he’s asking because he’ll wake you with gentle kiss. Then you can tell him you’ll give him back scratches before he has to ask and he’ll giggle. Give him 5 minutes, kiss him on his head and tell him “ugga mugga, see you in the morning” if he’s not already asleep.

4) Job done. Go relax and know that I’m thinking of you and am jealous that you get all the bedtime snuggles!

Love,

Hubband

8 thoughts on “My Bedtime Guide for DW

  1. Why is there no “5) Have a glass of an adult beverage” on this list? ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‰ Your night routine with Crash sounds awfully familiar!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

