M is for…

MMesses. But not the windows, they’re clean. Bang helped me clean them yesterday. Maybe because he wanted to help clean. Maybe because he just wanted to use the spray bottle. Nevertheless, he helped. He even went to get stools for us so we could reach up high. Crash on the other hand…

Even mention the word cleaning to him and he’ll flee like a rat on a sinking ship. I’m not sure if he’s allergic and afraid of anaphylaxis shock or if he just hates cleaning that much. I’m going with the latter. His room is clean only because we don’t allow toys up there. He has become fairly consistent about putting his clothes in the corner by the door instead of just thrown everywhere. But that’s the extent of it.

To ask him to clean up his mess of toys down in the basement? You might as well ask him to eat worms. Sometimes I’ll help him and the little bugger will intentionally clean slowly in an attempt to get me to clean to most of the mess. I’m smarter than that, finally. Now I stay close, but I don’t clean. I just keep him on track. I’m not far from cleaning his things myself and just packing it into garbage bags. He’ll expect them to be returned or replaced. HA! That won’t be happening. (Though I do have a very hard time getting rid of stuff. There’s a fine line between being a pack rat and hoarder, eh DW?)

I have tried so many different ways to help motivate him to clean. I’ve tried chore charts and stickers, rewards and consequences, and losing my ever loving mind at him. So my next step will be to tell him, “If I have to clean it, it will be with a garbage bag.” He won’t believe me the first time, guaranteed. Hopefully, he’ll get the hint after that.

Bang, on the other hand, is usually eager to help clean. Yesterday, we washed the windows. He sprayed and I washed. He was overly excited when I gave him permission to spray AND wash the storm door window by himself. He helps me with laundry, he helps me unload the dishwasher, he helps me vacuum (even if he is using his own toy vacuum). However, if Crash is around, Bang assumes the “But I don’t wanna clean!” attitude his brother has. So I try to do most of the cleaning while he’s at school and Bang is more willing to help. I leave the toys for them to clean. For now…

What have you done to help motivate your kiddies to clean? Has it worked?

7 thoughts on “M is for…

  1. This was such a great post. Really made me smile. I don’t have kids but my wife and I have six cats. I would like them to help around the house with the cleaning but that’s always going to be wishful thinking.

    Good luck with the rest of the challenge 🙂

    Like

  2. Loved this!

    I tried the same approach as you plan on — I told LM that whatever is left behind goes in my bin to donate to Goodwill. I actually told his dad that, too, because he’s just as bad if not worse. They are doing somewhat better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

