The Flight North

erin-leary

Moses told us to follow the drinking gourd to this here station. We knowed the pile of firewood on the front step meant we’d be safe in their barn. Now we’re just a load of hay waiting for delivery to The Promised Land.

But this night we’re not leavin’. We heard them dogs barkin’ an’ peoples was talkin’ askin if anyone seen runaway negroes. Them kind folk in the cabin lied for us. Dunno why, they don’t owe us nothin’. Now, them hunters are in here searchin’ the dark.


This is a story in 100 words or fewer for Friday Fictioneers based on the photo above. Click the blue frog to read more stories!

12 thoughts on “The Flight North

    • Thanks! I grew up minutes from where Frederick Douglas worked in Maryland. I can’t even begin to imagine the hardships. I often wonder if I would have been a slave, would I have run away to seek freedom? Would I have helped run away slaves?

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I knew the language would help set the time period. I’m still on the fence about how I ended it. Not sure if I should reveal if the speaker made it or got in that barn. 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks! I tried to sneak in as many secret codes as I could. Load of hay (or anything, for that matter) = fugitives being transported and Promised Land = Canada (of course). There’s more code words in the story, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I got the “hiding in the load of hay.” I will reread and see if I can find the other clues. I noticed, firewood on the porch meant it was safe to hide in the barn.

        Like

  1. I didn’t understand, “follow the drinking gourd to this here station.” At the end, “them hunters are in here searchin the dark.” At first I saw it as they were searching in the dark, but now I see it as they are searching for the “dark skinned.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

