Pancake Tuesday + Ash Wednesday = Lent

Pancake Tuesday (or Shrove Tuesday) was this past Tuesday. We had pancakes for breakfast. Or at least the kids did, anyway. That evening we discussed with Crash a bit about Lent and how we give up something until Easter Sunday. Crash did some brainstorming trying to figure out what he’d give up for lent. Screen time? Chocolate? Baths? He settled on chocolate. Determined he could do it, DW and I reminded him that means no chocolate milk, Kindereggs, or chocolate chip cookies and ice cream. His only ray of hope? Sundays. Sundays are freebies. DW is giving up chips because we got into the habit of eating them while watching TV or a movie in the evenings. I’m giving up pop.

Pancake Tuesday was followed by ash Wednesday the very next day. With Crash in religious class, we made sure to attend mass that evening. Crash and Bang were surprisingly well behaved. Until the ashes were applied, that is.  It must have been the ashes because after that the sillies settled in and they were giggly and goofy. They danced their way up the aisle. At communion time, they wrestled their way up the aisle. Fortunately, after communion it was nearly time to leave.

Crash is doing well with the no chocolate. Granted, we’re only 3 days into Lent, but he seems to be of the mindset that’s he has given it up. Though, last night after supper he did go looking in the freezer for the last bit of chocolate frozen yogurt. Sorry bub, that’s chocolate. Wait until he gets home from school to find out Guppie (his grandfather – grampie came out guppie when he was a baby and it’s been his name since) dropped off a Kinderegg (these things if you’ve never heard of them) and some Cadbury mini-eggs. This evening he tried to run off with his Kinderegg until I reminded him that it was chocolate. He wasn’t too happy about it. He was okay with a Nutrigrain bar, though. Crisis averted. He’ll have to wait for Sunday for those eggs!

I’ve given up pop. I love it. I don’t drink a lot of, mind you. But I probably drink more than I should. I know it’s bad for me. The sugar. The caffeine. The coloring. The whatever else they put in there… Anyway, I’ve given it up for the next 40 days. Sundays will be my saving grace. Though I’m going to try to pass on pop on Sundays, too. The key word there was try in case you missed it. I love a good irony, too. Almost as much pop. On Wednesday, my father-in-law asked me go buy 40 bottles of various kinds of pop on sale at a local grocery store (He resells it at the store he and my step mother-in-law run). A dollar a bottle. He came to pick it up today. The irony? On the very day I gave up pop for 40 days I have 40 bottles of it sitting in my living room!

The pop I gave up for Lent

The pop I gave up for Lent

Lastly, I leave you with a quote from Pope Francis quoting Chrysostom…

“No act of virtue can be great if it is not followed by advantage for others. So, no matter how much time you spend fasting, no matter how much you sleep on a hard floor and eat ashes and sigh continually, if you do no good to others, you do nothing great.”

Source of quote here

What have you given up for Lent? 

Leave a Reply

