Book Review #3

I’m not sure how I stumbled on to it one night after the kids were in bed, but I’m so happy  I did. I was folding laundry in the living room and looking for something good to watch. I came across a movie starring Emma Watson so I had to watch it. Turns out it was really good. And no, it wasn’t a Harry Potter movie.

Then I was in the library with a class and lo and behold there’s the book of the movie I just watched! I checked it out (actually, I started reading it in class, shhh) and ripped through the rest of it. It was really good and has earned it’s spot as my second favorite book after The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.Written by Stephen Chbosky The Perks of Being a Wallflower follows introvert Charlie through his freshman year of high school. It is written through a series of letters Charlie writes to an anonymous reader which made me feel as though Charlie were writing to me. If I had Charlie’s address I would have written back to him.

Charlie is shy, introverted and hence a wallflower. Content to watch life go by until he meets some outstanding characters such as Bill, his English teacher who sees great intelligence within quiet Charlie.  Patrick and Sam who are step-siblings and seniors at Charlie’s high school. They befriend Charlie who is then introduced to their circle of friends. From there, Charlie embarks on his journey through his freshman year.

Full of teenage rebellion, experimentation, humor and tragic pasts, Chbosky’s story comes to life.  It wrestles with the drama and tension of new friends, first dates, and family issues. It enters the world of love, drugs,The Rocky Horror Picture Show. 

Expertly written, the characters are living, breathing entities while we get a sneak peak into their life. When all it takes is one song to feel infinite, I promise you you’ll find a piece of yourself somewhere within the covers of this book. Happy Reading!

One thought on “Book Review #3

  1. Pingback: Book Review #4 | All In A Dad's Work

Leave a Reply

